Subtle modifications

Drop in, say hello to other owners and fans, and buy some coffees...

Subtle modifications

by Design Engineer » Wed May 23, 2007 1:08 pm

I am a freelance designer for Marcedes Ben & Porsche. I work near Stuttgart, my team and I did the G55 AMG gelande wagen, and latest ML class, amongst other things. I really enjoyed the G-wagen project,I am all for subtle modifications which improve the owner / drivers pleasure of owning the vehicle. Do any of the rest of you have any opinions about modifing classic vehicles? I'm not talking pimp my range rover here or max power, more so Overfinch or AMG esque...subtle evolutions with a mean streak.. I read earlier there is a CSK with an RPi 4.6 installed, that appeals to me & another owner is having a bespoke leather head liner fitted. interesting... would love to hear your opinions. I guess thats why the CSK floats my boat, its subtle changes add to its character but even a complete motoring dunder-head can tell its somehow different to a boggo range rover.

Re: Subtle modifications

by andy lanham » Thu May 24, 2007 4:50 am

Hi
Up grading the engine has to be the easiest and most effective mod that can also be reversed if original was required later.
I built and fitted a 4.6 into an LSE which with a chipped ecu went well and I have just started building a 4.8 motor with top hat liners to go into my p38.
On the suspension I really rate the Bilstein dampers but of course they are not cheap!
My csk has done nearly 200,000 miles with an engine rebuild but I dont find it slow just wish it was an auto.
The real question to all of this is where do you stop tinkering with the original?

by Design Engineer » Thu May 24, 2007 6:53 am

You could always swop to an auto box, my csk is manual, and i like it that way. the rarest of the rare...

by j,moore » Thu May 24, 2007 12:54 pm